

La Trobe University Academic Board

EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Establishment

This committee, previously known as the Curriculum, Teaching and Learning Committee, was established as a policy committee of Academic Board September 2008 (*Academic Board minute 426.3.2*). The committee's name and terms of reference were revised by Academic Board on: 9 March 2011 [refer minute 447.3.1]. Further revisions occurred on 11 May 2011 [refer minute 448.4.2], 12 October 2011 [refer minute 452.4.1], 12 June 2013 [refer minute 465.3.2], 8 October 2014 [refer minute 476.4.2], 2 August 2015 [refer minute 481.3.4], 11 November 2015 [refer minute 484.3.4.1], 9 March 2015 [refer minute 486.3.2], 8 March 2017 [refer minute 494.4.3), 8 November 2017 [refer minute 500.3.4], 11 March 2020 [refer minute 518.8.1], 10 February 2021 [refer minute 525.9, AB21/10(M)], 9 February 2022 [refer minute 536.10 (AB22-16(M)], and 16 November 2022 [min ref 581.8 (AB22-78(M)] and by Academic Board Executive Committee 21 April 2021 [refer minute 55.3, ABEC21/2(M)].

Membership

| Composition | | Member | Appointment status |
|-------------|---|--|------------------------|
| Α | Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Chair | Professor Jessica Vanderlelie | Ex-Officio |
| В | Senior Academic appointed by Academic Board (Deputy Chair) | Professor Suzanne O'Keefe | Nominated |
| С | Six Academic Board nominees: academic staff members with expertise or interest in learning and teaching, student equity, and retention or higher education policy | Professor Darren Henry Associate Professor Aaron McDonald Associate Professor Leanne Ngo Professor Arthur Stukas Associate Professor Ian Terrill Dr Tamara Tse | Nominated |
| D | Pro Vice-Chancellor (Student Experience and Employability) | Dr Naomi Dempsey | Ex-Officio |
| E | Pro Vice-Chancellor, Learning and Teaching | Associate Professor Sharna Spittle | Ex-Officio |
| F | Director, Student Administration, or nominee | Rachael Cumberland | Ex-Officio |
| G | Two student nominees* | Tanisha Dua Thomas Prince | Appointed Nominated |
| Н | One Indigenous coursework student nominated by Academic Board | Leigh Rogers | Nominated |
| 1 | University Librarian, or nominee | David Groenewegen | Ex-Officio |
| J | Chair of the Coursework Committee | Professor Bernadette Walker-Gibbs | Ex-Officio |
| K | Pro Vice-Chancellor (Graduate Research), or nominee | Associate Professor Dan Bendrups | Ex-Officio |

^{*} one member from the LTSU or LTSA and one member selected through a panel moderated expression of interest model.



Term of office

Three years for category C. One year for categories G and H.

The Committee may co-opt any member of the University community where particular expertise is required. The term of membership will be two years (renewable).

Role / Terms of reference

Purpose

As enunciated in the Terms of Reference.

Terms of reference

- 1. To provide advice to Academic Board on new and revised policies relating to curriculum, teaching and learning, credit and admissions.
- 2. To monitor teaching and learning quality and performance, providing periodical reports to the Board on:
 - a) Student progression, retention, completion, success, and equity;
 - b) Student satisfaction and experience;
 - c) Strategic programs taken to improve the quality of curriculum, teaching and learning and their impact;
 - d) Academic integrity and student complaints;
 - e) Annual course monitoring processes and their outcomes, and;
 - f) Any issues related to the implementation of educational policies, procedures and guidelines which may have a negative impact on the quality of teaching and learning.
- 3. To monitor the outcomes of institutional admissions, entrance and selection requirements, prerequisites and English language requirements, special entry and direct entry access schemes, and external domestic and transnational pathways in terms of student success and progression.
- 4. To provide advice to Academic Board on:
 - a) The strategic direction and priorities for curriculum, teaching and learning and the University's Teaching and Learning Plan;
 - b) Emerging issues and external influences of relevance to educational quality, such as government policies on performance indicators, TEQSA Standards and Government funding priorities.
- 5. To provide advice to Academic Board on learning support, facilities, and resources.
- 6. To receive and respond to reports and advice from Coursework Committee on matters pertaining to curriculum, teaching, and learning issues arising from course approvals and review.

Deputy Chair

The Deputy Chair in the absence of the Chair, will assume the same rights and responsibilities accorded to the Chair, including attendance at Academic Board meetings and speaking to the Report of the Committee.

Reporting

The Committee will report to the Academic Board after each meeting.



Quorum

A quorum for a meeting of the Committee will be a half of the membership plus one.

Frequency of meetings

The Committee will normally schedule meetings six times per year.

List of any sub-committees

The Education Committee may establish ad hoc working parties from time to time.

Secretariat

Governance

Contact person and phone / email

Rebecca Bramwell Manager, Governance

Email: education.committee@latrobe.edu.au